What’s cookin’

Though I could talk about my son and my husband until I’m blue in the face, I recognize that having other areas of interest are important.  The older Judah gets, the more independent he becomes, and the more I realize that I want to continue doing things that I enjoy outside of my motherly duties.

I don’t want to be lost when my kids grow up. I want to have hobbies and interests of my own, and I want my son to know that this is a good thing. Thus, the start of a few new posts.

I love coffee. I love fashion. My dream closet would be filled with boots, moccasins, and oversized grandma cardigans. I always carry huge purses. HUGE ones. Like, “fit your life inside there” size purses. I love them, and I also complain about never being able to find anything in them. Sensible, I know. I lose my phone on a daily basis, and most of the time it’s right where I left it. I love Bette Davis movies. Love them. I think she’s beautiful and so spunky, and she reminds me of my grandma Lewis. And speaking of grandmas, though I only knew her a little bit, I’m convinced that if my great-gram was alive today, we’d be pretty great friends. I love trashy MTV reality shows, and I’ve watched EVERY season of Teen Mom. All three sets of girls, each season, every episode. I know, I’m totally cool like that. I also enjoy trashy celebrity gossip magazines. I can tell you who’s dating who in Hollywood with the best of them. And, as much as I try to be a morning person, I’m not. I take a ridiculously long time to wake up, and I have crashed into my bathroom door more times than I care to admit.

I also love Fall. To me, it gets prettier every year. And with it’s beauty comes warm smells, relaxing, slow music, and pumpkin spiced everything. Who doesn’t love to pull on your warm socks, and cozy sweaters while drinking a hot cup of coffee without breaking a sweat? And what about that great, crisp Fall air? Yeah, you know the stuff. The kind that is refreshingly chilled, not that Winter garbage that makes you want to scream obscenities as soon as you get slapped in the face with it’s life sucking gusts of wind. Fall, you have the perfect coolness.

photo1

This time of year also gets me excited to cook again. It’s right about the end of September that I make the switch from the old summer menu of grilled meats and fresh fruits, and start trading it in for some hearty, warm, Fall dishes and drinks. Today, I’d like to share a few favorites from my kitchen.

I am a huge soup fan, and bread bowl fan. It’s just so good. This is what Fall eating is about!

Broccoli Cheddar Soup. Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup. Any soup. Panera, eat your heart out.

photo2

Sam Adams Octoberfest. If you’ve had it, nothing else needs to be said. If not, go get ya some right now before it’s too late!

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 8.39.15 PM

And pie. With ice cream. I’m not a huge baker, but I like to make a good pie on occasion. Emphasis on occasion. This one, I have no idea what I did to make it, honestly, but it was delish!

photo3I also love making THIS chicken pot pie. And I totally cheat and buy Pillsbury pie crust. I told you, I’m no baker.

For my bread bowl recipe, go HERE. To keep up with other dishes I like to cook, follow me on Pinterest HERE. Or, if you’d like some additional recipes, check out my sister-in-law’s blog HERE. Trust me, you will not be disappointed with the stuff she’s whipping up in her kitchen!

I’d love to get some new recipes to add to our menu, leave a note or two with some of your favorites!

4 thoughts on “What’s cookin’

  1. I love your honesty and your openness! I may try your soup recipe, well done! And yes for the oversize cardigans! Those are my absolute favorite and the easiest modern yet classy thing to wear 😉

  2. Bethany – it’s good to hear that you and Kyle are doing well (and eating well, it appears!) Found your blog through Sarah Schwartz’s and I think it’s downright wonderful. I’ll have to get myself an oversized purse. You know for… research.
    Blessings.

    • Peter! Thank you for reading and for your kind words! I have read your blog as well and am looking forward to keeping up with it. Also, you will not regret your oversized purse research, just be careful-they’re addicting. Hope you are well!!

  3. Pingback: What She’s Wearing, Reading, and Listening To :: Jaime | The Ramblings

Leave a Reply

