Farewell, Indiana.

Well, the time has come. This Friday, Kyle, Judah, and I are moving to the west coast.

I grew up in Western New York, in a middle-of-nowhere college town, but I “grew up” in Indiana. I came here for college, and am so glad I did. I made some amazing life-long friends and met my husband. 

Fun and slightly embarrassing fact: I applied to the school I eventually attended because there was no essay accompanying the application. Meet high school Bethany–lazy much? 

My parents encouraged both my sister and I to go wherever we felt was best when it came time to choose a college. Of course I know they would have loved for us to attend the college in our town, but they were so supportive of our choices to leave. I know both of us are happy to have spread our wings and left our comfort zones. Because I chose to go away to school, I wasn’t known as “so-in-so’s daughter,” “so-in-so’s sister,” or “so-in-so’s friend.” It was just me. And I know Kyle and I will encourage Judah, and his future siblings to do the same.

I did some really great things, and some really stupid things in college. Let’s be honest, mostly stupid. But, in between all that immaturity, I figured out what my faith meant to me. I was challenged by people from different walks of life, and my eyes were opened to many new things. Because of that, I will always consider Indiana as the place that helped to define me.

It was also here that I held my first “real world” job. Additional fun and slightly embarrassing fact: I had no idea what I was interviewing for. Seriously. My then boss told me the position using the acronym for it, and I just smiled and nodded like I knew exactly what she was saying. It had to have been God that intervened on that one, because the answers I gave, well…they came straight outta my behind. But I firmly believe that job opened my eyes to a world I was totally intimidated by. It opened my heart, and prepared me for my future. So, thanks for that, Indiana.

We had our son here. He’s a midwestern baby. He may grow up and go to school in Oregon, but he was born in good ol’ Fort Wayne. Indiana will forever have a piece of my heart because of that.

Of course we’ll be back for visits. Our family is here, and that is such a huge priority. Some may question why we would leave if that is the case, especially to go to such a far distance, but we’re just spreading our wings a bit. That doesn’t mean family is not just as important as it always was, just means we have to be a bit more creative in our efforts. And in my eyes, that’s the kind of stuff that helps keep families strong.

We are driving….all 32.5 hours….with a sixteen month old. So, send some positive thoughts or prayers our way if you will. I’ll be documenting our epic road trip via Instagram. You can click that little button on the right of your screen to follow me, or simply look me up (bethanyruthalcock).

Thanks for the memories Indiana. Keep it classy.

With love, The Alcocks.

Photo courtesy of Furore Photography.

Photo courtesy of Furore Photography.

2 thoughts on “Farewell, Indiana.

  1. This is going to be a great opportunity for you and your family Bethany! Thank you for keeping us posted on your family happenings! I’m sure you’ll have some more adventures along the way!

  2. I stumbled upon your blog and wanted to wish you good luck. I’m also from the midwest (Ohio) but love Oregon. I think it’s awesome that you are taking this leap and wish you the best!

Leave a Reply

