The Struggle is Real

There are things we all struggle with in life. I recently had coffee with a dear friend and we openly and honestly discussed some of our personal struggles. For me, I struggle a lot with jealousy. Particularly when it comes to hair, clothes, and just general appearance. It’s something I’ve dealt with all my life, and I’m slowly but surely getting over it (and myself), with an emphasis on slowly.

But there are some other things I struggle with daily, and I’m guessing other parents out there do too. I hope.

Legos. I love them. I hate them. They are so wonderful when they occupy your little one for endless hours of creative fun, but when it’s time to pick them up…they are everywhere and you can never, ever, ever, get all of them. Just when you think you’ve gotten them all put away…you find another one. And if you step on one, the cuss words flow. Who knew that such a small piece of plastic could cause so much pain?

Dishes. Seriously, this is my life: Load dishwasher. Empty dishwasher. Load dishwasher. Empty dishwasher.

Laundry. See above, except with clothes.

Changing sheets on a bunk bed. Bunk beds–so fun for your kids right? TERRIBLE idea for the one who has to change the sheets. You’re either hitting your head on the top bunk above you, or risking your life to lay a blanket on the top bunk.

Folding a fitted sheet. I’ve watched the tutorials. I still can’t do it. It frustrates me.

School drop off. This is a new world for me. This is judgmental. I admit it. But OMG moms with the perfectly applied makeup and curled hair at 7:45 AM who I know are not going to work because you’re there when it’s pickup time at 11:00. OMG. Yes, I wish I had your skills to dress and be presentable at that hour in the morning. I do. Yes, I am jealous of you. Yes, I am judging you from my own insecurity as I haggardly walk my son to his room with my bedhead and day old, slept in makeup. And no, I did not just roll out of bed despite my appearance. I have been up since 6:30. I have walked my dog, packed a backpack and snack, nursed a baby, provided breakfast, gotten two kids dressed and in the car to get to school on time. Please advise me where in that mess is there time to put on beautiful clothes and makeup? I want to know your ways. Also, OMG road rage in the drop off line. Ease up a bit…we’re all trying here.

Cleaning the floors (or house in general). I have hardwood floors. They are a hot mess. I do clean them, but then breakfast happens, and then lunch, followed by dinner, intermittent with several snack times, spills, outside debris brought indoors, and a drooling baby learning to crawl. Ain’t nobody got time to keep that mess clean.

I do not know how some of you do it. How do you keep the house clean, look drop dead gorgeous, have well-mannered kids, date nights with your spouse, and put a hot meal on the table every night? Plus sleep? Or do you not? I don’t know. But these are my struggles, and I hope I’m not alone in this mess.

 

Leave a Reply

